Skipper Arpit Vasavada hits double ton as Saurashtra inches closer to Ranji Trophy final

Saurashtra took a crucial 120-run first innings lead against Karnataka to embark on skipper Arpit Vasavada’s double century in Saturday’s Ranji Trophy final in Bengaluru. Vasavada recovered with a 112-run night scoring 202 off 406 balls, while Chirag Jani scored 72 to help Saurashtra finish their first innings with 527 in response to Karnataka’s 407. Pacer Vidwath Kaverappa (5/83) took five wickets at home to the team. If the match ends in a draw, Saurashtra will advance to the final with a first-game lead.

Karnataka ends day four with skippers 123-4 Mayak Agarwalthe double centurion in the first post, scored 64 balls 55 in quick succession before going down Dharmendrasinh Jadeja.

Ravikumar Samas, Dedutapadikal and Manish Pandey It was the other Karnataka wicket that fell on the day.

Nijin Jose held the fort for Karnataka on the stump. He was unbeaten on 54 of 74 balls, hitting six boundaries.

chetan sakaria (2/24) ran but picked two crucial wickets from Samrth and Padikkal in Karnataka’s second innings, while Jadeja (1/27) and Parth Bhut (1/41) took each one.

Saurarshtra won the Ranji Trophy 2019-20, beating Bengal, but not before they qualified for the title fight three times.

Bengals reach Ranji final for second time in three seasons

Bengal have all but secured their Ranji Trophy final berth for the second time in three seasons after extending their overall lead to 547 points with defending champions Madhya Pradesh.

Leading by 268 in the first innings, the Bengals decided not to declare their second essay and ended the penultimate day with 279 for nine.

Even if the semifinals are tied on Sunday’s fifth day, Bangladesh will advance to the final on the basis of their first-game lead.

first game centurion Anustup Majumdarwho was 9 overnight, was out at 80 when he was sacked by the left-arm spinner kumar kartikeya In a dubious LBW decision.

Majumdar, who shot 120 in the first inning, was once again the top scorer for the Bengals. Bengal left-arm spinner Pradipta Pramanik, No. 8, showed the team’s batting depth with an unbeaten 60 for 101 balls following Majumdar’s departure.

Pramanik has struck three fours and five sixes from 101 balls so far.

Pramanik and Isan Borrell (1 not out in 22 balls) set back the MP offense as Tiwary was in the mood to give his batsmen some much-needed practice ahead of the summit clash.

With a 59-2 recovery on day four, the first-inning centurion duo Majumdar and sudeep garami keep running.

Outspinner Saransh Jain finally broke the partnership, trapping Gharami with a ball that didn’t turn too hard. The duo added 85 key runs for the third wicket.

Majumdar is then paired with the captain manokitivari (15) yielded 39 runs in another useful partnership.

Jain (6/103) and Kartikeya (3/63) worked hard for MP with 88 overs bowled between them. But while their tails were wagging, the Bengal tigers stalked nearby.

(This story was not edited by NDTV staff and was automatically generated from syndicated feeds.)

Featured Video of the Day

Rohit Sharma responds to allegations of ‘tampered propaganda’ in Australian media

topics mentioned in this article

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *